Review- Pennies by Pepper Winters

25296512

Blurb:

“I’m not the hero in this story, girl. You’d do best to remember that.”

At eighteen years old, I was murdered.

I wish my tale ended there.

However, my killer resuscitated me and sold me to the highest bidder, sentencing me to a world worse than Hell.

For the past two years, I’ve lived a life of torment as a man’s property. I suffer in silence and wish for freedom, but I never break.

I can’t.

I won’t.

But then he arrives.

The first stranger since I was killed.

Elder Prest, a thief with a heart as black as his soul, arrives as a guest in our twisted home. He has business with my owner, but his interest lies in me. He pretends not to notice my bruises and hides his knowledge of what I am, but the way he watches me makes me feel more human than possession.

As his eyes tear through my walls and his voice demands answers, he challenges my owner for one night with me.

I’ve survived two years of torment because I no longer believe in hope, but Elder is the only man who promises me pleasure instead of pain.

Trusting him is dangerous, wanting him is deadly.

Is he my ticket to safety or my ultimate end?

Whoever he is, whatever he wants…I can’t say no.

My review:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

I seriously couldn’t start reviewing this book after I finished it. I was glued to the couch, I don’t what happen that day…I needed to take a moment after I finished the book. It was the first I’ve read this genre and I was bewildered.

WOW…this book was amazing. I think I cried more than the main character, was pissed the entire time, wanted to jump into the story and just hurt that maniac. I don’t have the words to describe what this story did to me. I don’t think I’ve read anything better. It captivated me word by word, and it made me suffer…my God I still can’t believe how powerful, how hurtful the story was.

The story starts with Tasmin Blythe. You will think she is a sweet sweet girl, with no worries disturbing her. Living a simple life as a teenager. Living her live free! But no, she was kidnapped by a horrible man, Mr. Kewet. Everyone sensed he was a creep, but her education made her act better, even if just wanted to run. She should of listen to her instincts.

Mr. Kewet strangled her, afterwards revived her, just so she could be sell as a slave. What happen? How did she got in this point? They have been keeping her in a room, beaten her, starved her, and Tasmin sensed something worse was coming. And she was right. She tried preparing herself, but is was for nothing.

Tasmin was sold at an auction. She tried buying herself, but her new owner outbid her. She was sold as a slave, and her new name was Pimlico. Tasmin no longer existed.

Alrik Asjorn is her new master, and he isn’t a nice one at all. He is pure evil. He just wants to hurt her, make her scream, make her speak, make her beg, but Pimlico fights back. She won’t give him her most valuable price, her words, her voice. She won’t scream, she won’t beg, she won’t make one sound.

“You’re name-less, family-less, and mine.”

For two years, Master A. hurts her in every possible way, beaten her, starved her, even treated her like a pet. He keeps repeating to Pimlico she won’t die, because she’s worth a lot of money, the money he paid for her. So she struggles to maintain, to live day to day. She thinks about suicide, but he is one step in front of her. There is nowhere to run, to hide, even to rest. He watched her every mode and she is forced to do many things…

“He hasn’t broken me. He will never break me. And soon, I will be free.”

But, apart from all of this pain, a new friend comes to visit Master A. His name is Elder Prest. He doesn’t seem to be the same as Master A. friends, and he acts like he can read her mind. Maybe he can save her? Maybe he can stop Master A.? Maybe he is even worse than Master A. ?

This book has many twists, you can’t read it and not be astounded. It’s impossible to read this story and not suffer with Tasmin, not cry your heart out of what happens to her. I am at loss of words when it comes to “Pennies”. I highly recommend this book! But be aware, this isn’t a book that has a happy ending.

About the author:

Pepper Winters is a NYT and USA Today International Bestseller. She wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex… her books have sex.

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends. She’s also honoured to wear the IndieReader Badge for being a Top 10 Indie Bestsellers, best BDSM series voted by the SmutClub, and recently signed a two book deal with Grand Central. Her books are currently being translated into numerous languages and will be in bookstores in the near future.

Her Dark Romance books include:
Tears of Tess (Monsters in the Dark #1)
Quintessentially Q (Monsters in the Dark #2)
Twisted Together (Monsters in the Dark #3)
Debt Inheritance (Indebted #1)

Her Grey Romance books include:
Destroyed

Upcoming releases are:
First Debt (Indebted Series #2)
Ruin & Rule (Pure Corruption MC)
Je Suis a Toi (Monsters in the Dark Novella)
Forbidden Flaws (Standalone Erotic Romance)

To be the first to know of upcoming releases, please join Pepper’s Newsletter (she promises never to spam or annoy you.)

NEWSLETTER: http://eepurl.com/120b5

Or follow her on her website

http://www.pepperwinters.com

She loves mail of any kind: pepperwinters@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

